Dibang Valley district General information

The Dibang Valley is a district of Arunachal Pradesh named after the Dibang River or the Talon as the Idus call it. The river originates in the mountains of China and flows through the length of the valley, named after it. The major population of this district consist of the Adis (padams) and the idus.


The name of  Lower Dibang Valley district is derived from the mighty river Dibang that flows through the heart of district and finally ends into the Brahmaputra. Prior to 1914, the district was a part of Lakhimpur district. By 1914 the North East Frontier Tract was constituted with three political charges and the area covered by this district became a part of the Eastern Section. In the year 1919, the Central and Eastern Section was renamed as the Sadiya Frontier Tract.

In 1943, some area from both the Sadiya Frontier Tract and the Lakhimpur Frontier Tract were carved out and Tirap Frontier Tract was formed. In 1948, under the North East Frontier Tracts (Internal Administration) Regulation, 1948, the remaining portion on the Sadiya Frontier Tract was divided into two separate administrative charges, namely the Abor Hills District and the Mishmi Hills District each in the charge of a Political Officer with headquarters at Pasighat and Sadiya respectively. In 1951, the plains portion of the Mishmi Hills District was transferred to administrative jurisdiction of the Government of Assam. In 1952, the headquarters of the Mishmi Hills District was shifted from Sadiya to Tezu.

According to the North East Frontier, areas (Administration) Regulation 1954, the North-East Frontier Tract came to be known as North-East Frontier Agency and the Mishmi Hills District was renamed as the Lohit Frontier Division. In 1956, the Dibang Valley was constituted as a separate administrative unit within the division and placed under the charge of Additional Political Officer with his headquarters at Roing which was subsequently shifted to Anini. In 1965, under the North-East Frontier Agency (Administration) Regulation, 1956 the Lohit Frontier Division came to be known by its present name the Lohit District and the Political Officer and Additional Political Officer were re-designated as the Deputy Commissioner and Additional Deputy Commissioner respectively. In June, 1980 under the Arunachal Pradesh (Re-organization of district), Act 1980 the Lohit District was bifurcated into two independent district namely Lohit District and Dibang Valley District, it’s headquarters at Tezu and Anini respectively.

The Lower Dibang Valley district was carved out of the un-divided Dibang Valley district at its headquarter at Roing as per the Amendment of Re-organization of the District Act of 1980 with effect from 16th December 2001.


Lower Dibang Valley is the land of enchanting beauty with its lush hills and deep valleys of the Himalayas, turbulent rivers flowing down the verdant hills abruptly emerging in the plains and colourful people belonging to Mishmi , Adi and Mishing and Galo tribes.       
The area under Roing, Dambuk and Koronu circles are plain lands, whereas the area under Desali and Hunli circles is hilly terrains with rugged and steep slopes.
Mayudia , 56 kms from Roing, being developed as a hill resort is nestled at a height of above 8500ft presents a panoramic view of the valleys. Come winter and see the closest snowfall region at Mayudia , just one and half hours drive from Roing.

Flora & Fauna
    Condusive climate, edaphic factors and the geographical location of the district give rise to luxurious vegetation rich in diversity. Some of the important tree species are Hollock(Terminalia, myriocarpa), Khokan(Duabanga grandiflora), Mekai, Simul, Titachampa(Michalia Champaca) and Gamari(Gmelina arborea). The bamboo of the variety Dendrocalamus Hamiltonii is found in abundance. Different varieties of canes are commonly found in the area.     

    The medicinal plants Coptis Teeta(Mishmi Teeta) is an endemic species and Taxus baccata are available here. The area is also rich in orchid varieties. Like the flora, the fauna of this area is equally rich and varied. It includes some rare species of wild animals and birds.     Mishmi Teeta - Medicinal plant
The common variety of wild life are Tiger, Black Panther, Leopard, Bear, Elephant, Wild Pig, Langur, White browed gibbon, Musk Deer, Mishmi Takin. Among the birds the common varieties are Hornbills, Babblers, Bulbul, Warblers, Flycatchers, Pigeons etc. The area is also abode of different species of snakes, reptiles and insects and last but no the least different varieties of blood sucking leeches.

Access & Accomodation

Roing can be accessed from the adjacent state-Assam by road and air. Visitors can reach Roing by road from Tinsukia via Dhola and Sadiya. One has to cross mighty Brahmaputra River while traveling from Tinsukia via Dhola ghat/Sadiya Ghat to Roing. One can also come from Tezu via Sunpura road or from Pasighat via Dambuk and Nijomghat. A tourist can also enter the district from Paglam area.
There are two check gates. One is at Shantipur and the other at Paglam.The distance from Tinsukia to Shantipur check-gate is about 70 kms and from Shantipur to Roing is about 23 kms. The distance of Roing Township from Tezu is about 100 kms. There is direct Arunachal Pradesh State Transport (APST) bus service from Tinsukia to Roing. Private buses/taxis are also available at Tinsukia.
The nearest airports are at Dibrugarh (Mohanbari) and Guwahati (Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport) in Assam. Helicopter (Pawan Hans) flights are available from Guwahati, Dibrugarh/Mohanbari and Naharlagun. One can travel by Indian Airlines and Sahara Flights up to Dibrugarh/Mohanbari from where one can travel by land route.

During Brahmaputra Darshan Festival from Jan 28-31, 2004 foreign tourists will be provided accommodation in the traditional houses constructed specially for the occasion; traditionally constructed houses with neat & clean rooms and western toilets & bathroom facilities. While VIPs will be accommodated in Eje Breeze Tower, Circuit House and Anchal Samiti Rest House, other visitors will be accommodated in different hotels during the festival period. Tents will also be set-up to accommodate visitors. Tour operators can also set-up such tents for tourists.

Tourist Places
The visiting places are

1. Mayudia  –  A Unique Hill Resort
2. Mehao  Lake…a natural lake amidst virgin forest    
3. Mehao Wildlife Sanctuary: A real ocean of green paradise on earth.
4. Sally-a lake resort
5. Nehru Van Udyan (Forest Park)-  where only nature speaks  
6. Iphipani-  a picnic spot
7.  Nijomaghat- a picnic spot
8. Hunli- a picturesque town
9. Bhismaknagar  -  a  heritage monument
10.Rukmini Nati
11.Ita and Padum Pukhuri
12. Kampona Pond

Was this information helpful? Yes No
Comments (0)